Wellington Development

Wellington are the current holders of the Hurricanes Shield.

This shield is contested every year in the Hurricanes Region.

Wellington competed against Hawkes Bay Saracens, Manawatu Development, Wellington Samoans.

This competition has been going since 2009 and Wellington have won the title every time in the 7 years.

Wellington will also compete with Tasman Development & Canterbury Development in a Tri Series for the first time this year

Fixtures And Results

Saturday 22 September

12:00pmPorirua Park
Saturday 29 September

1.00pmTremain Field, Napier
Saturday 6 October1.00pmLinfield Park, Christchurch
Saturday 13 October

2.00pmPorirua Park

Team Management

Head Coach
Jeremy Little
Assistant Coach
Zak Feaunati
Assistant Coach
Kent Harris
Hayden Smith
Koji Shigeeda
Josh Plail
Video Analyst
Ryan Piper

2018 Development Squad


Albert Polu

Fereti Soloa

Lise Soloa

Tomasi Alosio


Andrew Wells

Isaia Petelo

James Proctor

James Tuiatua

Naitoa Ah Kuoi

Philip (Mat) Peni

Kienan Higgins

Ratu (Esi) Komaisavai

Alexander Barendregt

Daven Candy

Greg Mullany

Jonathan Fuimaono

Matt Fowler


Luke Tauálupe

Malachai Unasa

James Hansen

Bruce Kauika-Peterson

Logan Henry

Marcus Roil

Tupou Sopoaga

Viliami Fine


Joshua Houston-Tupou

Tianeva Apineru

Alex Dalzell

Oliver Sapsford