Wellington Community Rugby Award winners 2018

|   News

The Northern United Women’s team were the significant winners at the Wellington Community Rugby Awards at the Harbourside Function Centre on Wednesday night.

The winners of the Rebecca Liua’ana and Tia Paasi Memorial Cup, Northern United were named Team of the Year for their almost perfect season that culminated in their win on finals day in a thrilling match against Oriental-Rongotai.

Northern United’s women’s team were up against a quality field which included defending Jubilee Cup champions Old Boys University, Hutt Old Boys Marist Barbarians (first grade), the Marist St Pats Premier Reserve side and Northern United’s premier men’s side who were beaten in the final.

As well as team of the year, Northern United’s Matt Poutoa was named coach of the year.

Poutoa implemented an impressive style of play which saw the team sweep almost everyone in front of them.

Other finalists included Gerard Faasavalu (Northern United Premier), Makea Pokere (Avalon Under 85kg) and Jamie Williams (Old Boys University Premier).

Poneke’s Greg Foe was recognised for his outstandingly consistent season by being awarded the Billy Wallace Memorial Trophy as the best and fairest men’s premier club player.

Foe, who is part of the Wellington Lions squad, was a clear winner and was never headed in the race for the trophy.

Oriental-Rongotai wing Ayesha Leti-l’iga capped off a remarkable season by winning the women’s club player of the year.

Leti-l’iga scored a remarkable 41 tries in just 13 matches, including at least a hat-trick on an amazing nine occasions.

Caleb Delaney, part of the victorious Old Boys University colts side, was named the Les Mills Age Grade Player of the Year.

It was a special night for Dave Painter who was awarded the Wellington Rugby Football Union’s Lifetime Contribution Salver.

The Upper Hutt Rams stalwart has spent more than four decades in the game, who has filled every role there is to fill at club and union level and earned the respect of everyone he has been involved with during those 40 years.

Until recently he was co-ordinating massage services for international, provincial and Super Rugby teams whenever they were in the capital. He continues to strap the Lions and Hurricanes and just last week he was massaging the All Blacks and no doubt providing them with his own coaching tips.

Richard Gordon, who controlled his fourth consecutive Jubilee Cup final, was named Referee of the Year, Old Boys University won the Dewar Shield, Northern United the Sir William Perry Memorial Trophy, Wellington United the AJ Griffiths Memorial Trophy and Petone the Junior Merit Trophy.

In other awards, Old Boys University’s Ian Cuff was named Senior Rugby Volunteer of the Year, Poneke’s Malcolm Gibbs was the Junior Rugby Volunteer of the Year while Poneke was awarded the Burger King Positive Sidelines Environment Award.

Finally,  Johnsonville was awarded the The Club Community Award for turning around a dire mid-season position after they called a special meeting and got everyone behind them to eventually make the semi-finals of the Hardham Cup.


Sir William Perry Memorial Trophy

Northern United

Griffiths Memorial Trophy

Wellington Premier

Junior Merit Award


Dewar Shield

Old Boys University

Referee of the Year

Richard Gordon

Burger King Positive Sidelines Club Award 


Junior Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Malcolm Gibbs (Poneke)

The Club Community Award

in association with the New Zealand Amateur Sport Association Inc.


Senior Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Ian Cuff (Old Boys University)

Club Coach of the Year

Matt Poutoa (Northern United)

Club Team of the Year

Northern United Women

Les Mills Age Grade Player of the Year

Caleb Delaney (Old Boys University)

Women's Club Player of the Year

Ayesha Leti-Iiga (Oriental-Rongotai)

Billy Wallace Memorial Trophy
(Men's Club Player of the Year)

Greg Foe (Poneke)

WRFU Lifetime Contribution Salver

Dave Painter (Upper Hutt Rams)