New trophies announced for women's rugby

|   News

Three players who have made a significant contribution to Wellington women's rugby have been recognised in the renaming of the Womens competition trophies.

Former Black Ferns Izzy Ford, Rebecca Liua'ana and the late Tia Paasi will have their names etched on to new trophies on the eve of the Wellington women's competition kicking off on Saturday.

The Rebecca Liua'ana Trophy will be awarded to the first round division one winner, the Tia Paasi Memorial Trophy will be given to the winner of the second round of the first division while the Izzy Ford Trophy will be won by the team who tops round two of the second division.

All three women have played a significant part in Wellington women's rugby and the union was delighted to be able to recognise them in this way, head of community rugby Will Caccia-Birch said Ford, a current Wellington Rugby Football Union board member, was a Black Fern between 1999 and 2002, as well as in 2005, was a number 8 from Northern United.

Liua'ana was a New Zealand representative between 1999 and 2002, and currently the only female centurion for Oriental-Rongotai. Liua'ana continues to give back to the game as manager of her clubs premier reserve men's side.

Paasi, who sadly passed away in March, was an uncompromising loosehead prop who represented the Wellington Pride more than 50 times over a 10-year period. Another former Black Fern, she played four tests between 2001 and 2007. She was a permanent fixture on the Wellington women's club scene for more than two decades.

"We're delighted that the work these women have put in, on and off the field, will be closely associated with our game," Caccia-Birch said.